Give Now
Founders Day

​Distinguished faculty, alumni, and friends are recognized for their exceptional service to the university and community

About 650 alumni and friends gathered for the annual Founders Day dinner and ceremony November 5, 2016, at the St. Louis Union Station Hotel.  This formal event commemorates the founding of Washington University in 1853 and honors distinguished alumni, faculty and friends for their achievements. The special guest speaker this year was Nina Totenberg, Legal Affairs Correspondent for National Public Radio. 

Distinguished Alumni Awards 

Richard W. Brown, MHA ’70
Stowers Institute for Medical Research

James Francis Dempsey, MA ’95, PhD '97
Chief Scientific Officer
ViewRay, Inc.

Suren G. Dutia, BS ’63, AB '67, MS '67
Senior Fellow
Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

George C.W. Gatch, AB ’86
Chief Executive Officer, Global Funds Management 
and Institutional Asset Management 

J.P. Morgan

Michael Shamberg, AB ’66
Film and Television Producer

Vicki Match Suna, AB ’80, MArch '82
Vice Dean and Senior Vice President for 
Real Estate Development and Facilities

NYU Langone Medical Center

Robert S. Brookings Awards

Stephen F. and Camilla T. Brauer

Gary M. Sumers, AB '75


Distinguished Faculty Awards

Jean M. Allman
J.H. Hexter Professor in the Humanities
Professor of History
Arts & Sciences

Ross C. Brownson
Bernard Becker Professor of Public Health  
Brown School and School of Medicine

Heather Corcoran
Jane Reuter Hitzeman and Herbert F. Hitzeman, Jr
Professor of Art       
Director of the College and Graduate School of Art
Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts

Adrienne D. Davis
William M. Van Cleve Professor of Law​
Vice Provost
School of Law

Richard H. Gelberman, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
School of Medicine​

© , Washington University in St. Louis, One Brookings Drive, Campus Box 1210, St. Louis, MO 63130

Terms and Conditions